What To Miss: The City

Three months of pristine, wild land. I didn’t ever want to come back to the city, it didn’t feel right to me anymore. I have truly come to feel more at home away from home. My very fortunate life took a fortunate turn, announcing that I had three more months to spend in the wild and quite possibly a year after that. There was a catch. Five days in the city before my re-indoctrination of the wilds.

I suppose this is me finding things to look forward to in my five days of city.

What do I really miss about the city?


I miss taking hot showers with different fragrances, freshly laundered towels and clothes, full breakfasts, rare coffee blends, ridiculous newspaper articles, and the morning sun filtering through the blinds.

I miss sticking my head out of the window while on the highway and the feeling of air buffeting my face. I miss guessing where other people in the cars next to me are going, and what their story is.

I miss waiting for the public transit system. It reminds me of how often I used to take it and all of the different people I would meet and stories I would hear. I miss bus rides in the night.

I miss discovering warmly decorated offices while running errands. It reminds me of the adaptability of humanity and their power to make whatever condition suitable to them, even if in a cubicle.

I miss beautiful girls on public bike trails and the smiles they give me as they ride by. I miss the style of ‘outdoor’ city girls in this particular city, not quite outdoorsy but they make a good effort.

I miss the 25% of profits that companies must spend towards art in their construction plans.

I miss local radio stations during long car rides. I especially miss the classical channel and how it synchronizes with the urban safari I observe.

I miss the flowers that make the concrete and glass easier to look at. I also miss good architecture.

I miss roadside vendors and the scents that they blanket the air with. I miss the swarms of tourists that flock to roadside vendors. I especially miss pretty tourist girls.

I miss long lines at cheap drive-thru places and the hilarious moments usually caused by them. I miss lunch visits with my dad and helping him out where he needs it.

I miss the smell of freshly cut grass. I miss the symmetry that people struggle so hard with to attain and working on menial tasks in the yard.

I miss fresh meals with a wide range of choices. I miss the refrigerator, the oven, the stove, and everything else I used to cook with.

I miss comfortable furniture, warm buildings, deep naps, and dry socks.
I miss the love of my feline companion and watching a movie with her before I retire for the night.

I miss sleeping all the way through the night uninterrupted, always confident that it will be warm, and waking completely refreshed for the next cup of coffee.

About dak89

Dakota is a free lance photographer and writer. He combines both original writing and photography into one, both inspired by events in his life and insights gained during said moments. View all posts by dak89

Leave a comment